short banner

ACPE Grants Continued Accreditation to University of Charleston Pharmacy School

Release Date:  Monday, July 02, 2012

Charleston, W.Va. – Following a site visit this spring, the national Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) has granted continued accreditation to the University of Charleston School of Pharmacy. 

Dr. Michelle Easton, dean of the School of Pharmacy, was pleased at the announcement.  “This external validation of the quality, excellence, and compassionate delivery of pharmacy education by the national pharmacy accrediting body is especially rewarding and speaks well to the value-added education offered at the University of Charleston.  The continuation of full accreditation status is no small feat and is a direct result of the intentionality, commitment, and care of our highly qualified pharmacy faculty and staff.”

The University of Charleston School of Pharmacy enrolled its first students in 2006, and received full accreditation when the first class graduated in May, 2010.  Each year, the school educates over 300 student pharmacists in a new, technology-filled building.  The program is known for the close cooperation between students and faculty, an emphasis on professionalism and advocacy, and PharmUC, an on-campus provider of medication therapy management and chronic disease education services for patients. 

Office of Communications

Dave Traube
Director of Communications

UC Information

Dr. Edwin H. Welch biography 

Dr. Edwin H. Welch photo 

UC Backgrounder 

UC Campus photo 

UC Logo 

UC Location

UC Campus Map 

UC on Mapquest